COLDWAY was created in 2001 by Laurent RIGAUD and Francis KINDBEITER. It is a French company which has brought about a major innovation in the generation of heat and cold, finally making it possible to store industrial cold and use it as required in any place and in all circumstances, regardless of the power desired and without the need for external energy.

The originality of this internationally patented invention is that it is an autonomous process, i.e. it uses no continuous external energy and is both mobile and reusable without being limited in time and without using consumables. This fully developed invention has now entered industrial production.

One of the first solutions introduced by the company has provided the perfect answer to the absolute health needs of an entirely uninterrupted cold chain, as required for example in the food, medical, logistics and transport sectors, -where control and traceability of temperatures and both flexibility and reliability in transporting temperature sensitive products at constant temperatures are essential.

Through its expertise in refrigeration systems and in order to meet professional requirements in the health, logistics and food industries, Coldway has strategically positioned itself as the “Cold Chain Specialist. It has designed, manufactured and distributed products dedicated to the cold chain for over 15 years for both the transportation and storage of temperature sensitive products. Coldway’s unique knowledge and experience in the field is the basis for its hallmark expert solutions.
The product ranges developed by COLDWAY now equip over 600 clients in France and 45 other countries in the fields of health, food, transport and logistics.

Capitalising on its almost 15 years of experience and expertise in producing autonomous refrigeration systems and on its ability to innovate, COLDWAY is now providing customised solutions to companies seeking applications specifically adapted to their sector (energy, automotive industry and leisure appliances etc.,).

2001
Foundation of COLDWAY by Francis KINDBEITER and Laurent RIGAUD, two researchers from the Institute of materials and processing sciences and engineering part of the French National Centre for Scientific Research – CNRS). The aim of the company is to continue the development of an autonomous process for the generation and control of cold on the basis of over 10 years of fundamental research.
2002
COLDWAY obtains EC approval for its thermochemical heat and cold generation system and launches its first refrigeration boxes for the medical market.
2004
COLDWAY succeeds in its first fundraising exercise, obtaining capital from two venture capital companies. The company develops its electronic temperature regulation system for refrigeration boxes and develops its range of products.
2007
2008
COLDWAY launches the Alcatherm range in France and internationally, winning customers and plaudits from the fields of carriers, laboratories, care facilities and the food industry.
2010
COLDWAY consolidates the launch of its OEM activities by signing its first industrial partnership for the development of a customised product incorporating COLDWAY technology.
2011
The COLDWAY quality management system is certified in compliance with Standard ISO 9001:2008
2013
COLDWAY succeeds in its second fundraising exercise, acquiring 9.3 million Euros from its historical shareholders and two new investors, including the French State as part of the “Investments for the Future” Programme of the French Agency for the Environment and Energy Management (ADEME).
2014
Two new product launches equipped with COLDWAY technology during this year: the Roll range, a completely unique product family dedicated to logistics and transport and designed to provide a solution to the difficulties caused by the inadequate flexibility of logistics systems, and the utility vehicle equipped with three temperature ranges to meet the needs of medical analytical laboratories to transport laboratory samples at controlled temperatures.

COLDWAY has approximately thirty employees, who are geared towards project development, from initial innovation to final full-scale industrial production.

R&D Department : the R&D department is the strategic arm of COLDWAY and has 8 engineers and technicians specialising in electronics, mechanical and thermal engineering; they are tasked in particular with designing application systems and developing customised solutions for specific client needs. This department consists of a design office, a prototype workshop and a test laboratory.
COLDWAY has established a robust development plan, from the expression of customer requirements through the initial prototype to full-scale production, in order to develop new products in accordance with quality management principles.
The R&D department works closely with several partners including the PROMES laboratory, which is a research unit of the French National Scientific Research Centre (CNRS).
Industrial Department : this is the real interface between R&D and production. The industrial department is tasked with the industrial upscaling of new products. It is also responsible for dimensioning and developing the production machinery consistent with customer requirements, while at the same time guaranteeing quality and global productivity targets.
Quality department : this department guarantees the excellence and quality of COLDWAY products. The company is committed to an ISO 9001 V2008 quality process.
Marketing department : COLDWAY’s marketing activities are organised along two strategic branches: firstly sales of the catalogue product range, whether directly or through distributors, and secondly the development of customised products to meet the specific needs of companies in potentially strong markets.
General / Administrative and Financial management : this department groups together all of the supporting functions (management, administration and finance, sales administration)

Laurent RIGAUD, Chairman of the Board of Directors

  • Engineering Doctorate in “Thermochemical Systems”
  • IFG Diploma in innovation, marketing and management (Institut Français de Gestion)
  • Design and execution of the COLDWAY strategy
  • Operational management
  • Responsibility for industrial property and patent management
  • Responsible for commercial development

David TADIOTTO, Research & Development Director, Member of the Board of Directors

  • Master’s degree in industrial and mechanical engineering – ENSAM
  • 20 years’ experience with a tier 1 automotive components supplier – Thermal Systems
  • Head of Research and Development from early concept to final production
  • Programmes management.
  • Cross-departmental operational management

Chantal BIASOTTO, Administrative and Financial Director

  • Ecole Supérieure de Commerce de Paris (–ESCP business school)
  • Over 20 years’ experience, including 10 years in administrative and financial management (accounting and legal management, human resources, directing acquisition and merger procedures, achievement and monitoring of ISO 9001 certifications, etc.)
  • Expertise in the medical field .

Francis KINDBEITER, Technical Director and Head of Quality, Co-founder,

  • Master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from INSA LYON
  • Training as Quality Manager for ISO 9001: 2008
  • Over twelve years’ experience in product development including 11 at COLDWAY and 2 at the CNRS laboratory.
  • Has a full understanding of the thermochemical process.

Créée en 2001 par Laurent RIGAUD et Francis KINDBEITER, COLDWAY est une société française à l’origine d’une innovation majeure dans la production de froid et de chaleur : rendre enfin possible le stockage de froid industriel et son utilisation à la demande, sans apport d’énergie extérieure, en tout lieu et en toute circonstance, quelle que soit la puissance recherchée.

L’originalité de cette invention, brevetée au niveau international, réside dans un procédé autonome c’est-à-dire sans utilisation en continu d’énergie extérieure, mobile et réutilisable, sans limitation de temps et sans utilisation de consommables. Cette invention mature est désormais au stade d’industrialisation.

Une des premières solutions apportées par l’entreprise est de répondre parfaitement à l’exigence absolue sanitaire de maîtrise de la chaîne du froid qu’exigent des secteurs tels que l’agro-alimentaire, l’univers médical, la logistique ou encore le transport, – maîtrise et traçabilité des températures, souplesse et fiabilité dans le transport de produits sensibles à températures constantes.

Grâce à ses compétences dans les systèmes de réfrigérations et pour répondre aux attentes des professionnels dans les domaines de la santé, la logistique ou l’alimentaire, Coldway s’est stratégiquement positionné comme le « Spécialiste de la chaîne du froid ». Elle conçoit, fabrique et distribue depuis plus de 15 ans des produits dédiés à la chaîne du froid pour le transport et le stockage des produits thermosensibles. Coldway se différencie en proposant des solutions qualifiées grâce à son expertise.
Les gammes de produits développées par COLDWAY équipent aujourd’hui plus de 600 clients en France et dans 45 pays dans les univers de la santé, de l’alimentaire et du transport logistique.

Fort de près de 15 ans d’expertise dans la réalisation de systèmes de réfrigération autonome, COLDWAY capitalise sa capacité d’innovation et son expérience acquise pour offrir des solutions sur mesure à des industriels souhaitant des applications adaptées à leur secteur (énergie, automobile, électroménager de loisirs…)

2001
Création de COLDWAY par Francis KINDBEITER et Laurent RIGAUD, deux chercheurs associés de l’Institut de sciences et génie des Matériaux et procédé (CNRS). L’entreprise vise à poursuivre le développement d’un procédé de production et gestion autonome de froid, fruit de plus de 10 ans de recherche fondamentale.
2002
COLDWAY obtient l’homologation CE de son système thermochimique de production de froid et chaud et lance ses premiers caissons réfrigérés pour le marché médical.
2004
COLDWAY réussit sa première levée de fonds, avec l’entrée au capital de deux sociétés de capital-risque. L’entreprise met au point son système de régulation électronique de la température de ses caissons réfrigérés et développe sa gamme de produits.
2007
2008
COLDWAY lance la gamme Alcatherm en France et à l’international, gagnant des clients et des références dans l’univers des transporteurs, des laboratoires, des établissements de soin et des acteurs alimentaires.
2010
COLDWAY concrétise le lancement de l’activité OEM grâce à la signature d’un premier partenariat industriel pour le développement d’un produit sur mesure intégrant la technologie COLDWAY.
2011
Le système de management de la qualité de COLDWAY est certifié conforme aux exigences de la norme ISO 9001:2008
2013
COLDWAY réussit sa deuxième levée de fond pour un montant de 9,3 millions d’euros, auprès de ses actionnaires historiques et de deux nouveaux investisseurs, dont l’État dans le cadre des actions du Programme d’Investissements d’Avenir confiées à l’ADEME.
2014
Deux nouveaux lancements de produits équipés de la technologie COLDWAY au cours de cette année : la gamme Roll, totalement inédite dédiée à la logistique et au transport qui offre une réponse aux contraintes de manque de souplesse des circuits logistiques et le véhicule utilitaire aménagé en tri-température qui permet de répondre aux attentes des laboratoires d’analyses médicales pour le transport des prélèvements biologiques sous température dirigée.

COLDWAY compte une trentaine de collaborateurs tournés vers le développement de projets, de l’innovation à l’industrialisation.

Département R&D : Axe stratégique de COLDWAY, l’équipe R&D comprend 8 ingénieurs et techniciens en électronique, mécanique et thermique tournés vers l’étude de systèmes applicatifs et vers le développement de solutions sur mesure pour des besoins clients spécifiques. Ce département est composé d’un bureau d’étude, d’un atelier prototype et d’un laboratoire d’essai.COLDWAY a mis en place un solide schéma de développement, de l’expression du besoin client du prototype à la vie série, afin de développer de nouveaux produits selon les principes de management par la qualité.Le pôle R&D travaille en étroite collaboration avec plusieurs partenaires dont le laboratoire PROMES – Unité du CNRS.
Département Industriel : véritable interface entre la R&D et la production, le service industriel intervient sur l’industrialisation des nouveaux produits. Il est également chargé de dimensionner et de développer l’outil de production en adéquation avec la demande client tout en gardant des objectifs de qualité et productivité globale.
Département qualité  : ce service garantit l’excellence et la qualité des produits COLDWAY. L’entreprise est engagée dans une démarche qualité et est certifiée ISO 9001 V2008.
Département commercial : l’activité commerciale de COLDWAY est organisé selon deux axes stratégiques : vente directe ou au travers de distributeurs de la gamme de produits catalogue et développement de produits sur-mesure adaptés aux besoins spécifiques d’industriels sur des marchés à fort potentiel.
Direction Générale / Administratif et Finances : ce service regroupe toutes les fonctions support (direction, administration et finance, administration des ventes)

Laurent RIGAUD, Président du Directoire

  • Doctorat en Génie des procédés : Doctorat en Génie des procédés
  • Diplômé de l’IFG marketing de l’innovation en management de PME
  • Conception et mise en place de la stratégie COLDWAY
  • Management opérationnel
  • En charge de la propriété industrielle et de la gestion des brevets
  • En charge du développement commercial

David TADIOTTO, Directeur des Opérations et Responsable de l’Ingéniérie, Membre du Directoire

  • Ingénieur Diplômé Arts et Métiers – ENSAM
  • 20 ans d’expérience Equipementier Automobile Rang 1 – Systèmes thermiques
  • Responsable Recherche et Développement de l’avance de phase à la grande série
  • Gestion de programmes
  • Management opérationnel transversal
mario alcaraz

Mario ALCARAZ, Responsable Administratif et Financier

  • Executive MBA Kedge Business School
  • Maîtrise Sciences de Gestion, DESS Contrôle de Gestion et Diplôme de Comptabilité et de Gestion
  • 13 ans de responsabilités administratives, financières et de gestion de centres de profits dans le service aux entreprises et la grande distribution

Francis KINDBEITER, Directeur Technique et Responsable Qualité, Co-fondateur

  • Ingénieur INSA LYON, Génie Mécanique
  • Formation Responsable qualité ISO 9001: 2008
  • Expérience de 12 années sur du développement produit dont 11 chez COLDWAY et 2 au laboratoire du CNRS
  • Parfaite connaissance du procédé thermochimique